Members can see more Boards, Topics, Picture Galleries, Videos, Games and more. Register NOW...
Recent Pictures (List All)

Rating: (None)
Views: 34
Comments (0)

Views: 37
Comments (0)

Views: 35
Comments (4)

Views: 25
Comments (0)
Currently:
  • My build of a one sheet canoe 5 1

Author Topic: My build of a one sheet canoe  (Read 7597 times)

Offline Member

• Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 9
  • Liked: 2
  • Sweetwater Fishing Fanatic
  • View Gallery
My build of a one sheet canoe
« on: June 07, 2013, 12:38:22 AM »
Saw a post a while ago somewhere on the net of a one sheet canoe and liked the simplicity and price of the build so thought I would have a go at building one.

I have never built a boat before so I decided if I screwed this up, it wouldn't cost much and with winter coming up, might have some firewood but it went better than expected.

The build is very simple. You start out with a sheet of 2400 by 1200 6 mm exterior ply for $24. Knots and all.

You cut 300 mm from each side and lay these with the factory sides together and mark 75mm from one end for the bow and 50mm from the other end for the stern and mark some lines from these points to the outside of these sheets. See pic 1. 11.26am

Then make a frame of any wood you have lying around with the bottom measurement being what is left of the sheet of ply after the first 2 cuts. Mine was 590mm. The top measurement I used was 800mm. See pic2 12.16 am

Draw a centre line on your sides and screw the sides to the frame. Pic3. 12.59 am

Pull the ends together and mark this v angle on some scrap and cut 2 pieces of 4x2 at this angle and about 400mm long. These will be your bow and stern posts. Then glue and screw the ends to these posts with some overhang top and bottom. Pic4. 13.15 pm